NOW

ARCHIVE

NOTES

DLAND

EMAIL

death
04 April 2003 - 12:27 pm

I just picked up the qual. It's so unbelievably difficult I can't even believe it. That's why I�m writing in here instead of thinking about it. After I turn it in I'm going to post the questions so you people who read this will know how much suffering I have to go through. fuck.

The good thing is, they just started accepting applications for working at reunions this year, and since I was procrastinating by checking my email I was probably one of the first to send in an application. I loved working for reunions last year. They pay $8 an hour, so I made a whole months rent in one week. All I had to do was decorate campus, hang out with a bunch of old reedies and eat all the free food. I got to go to a wine tasting, and one day all I did was sit in the art gallery for 4 hours. And it was summer. I love summer.

Today Donna and I were talking about having a cinco de seis reunion this year, except half the people aren't here anymore. Maybe we could get Dave to visit. It's so strange that it's been a year since then.

So by monday I have to write 3 essays, 2 pages each. Each question is incredibly intricate and is actually about 5 questions in one, so it's going to be hard to answer everything in only 2 pages. I think the professors are just lazy and didn't want to have to read very much. I wonder if anyone has ever committed suicide because of the qual. Donna and I think yes. I bet if I killed myself those evil anthropology professors would be sorry and they'd never make the qual so hard again. I could help future generations! But no.

Despite all my pain, I really like Reed today. Maybe it's remembering my idyllic work at reunions last year. I'm glad everything is so fucking hard. Otherwise what would be the point? I like struggle.


[ past ] [ future ]