NOW

ARCHIVE

NOTES

DLAND

EMAIL

this strange change in atmosphere
05 August 2002 - 10:14 pm

after my first day of work, i ran into jordan on the street and he asked me "so, do you feel powerful?" and i wasn't quite sure what to say. but now i know what he means. I Stop For No One. I Do Not Follow The Rules Of Physics, Or The Rules Of Traffic. I Was Born In A Bike Lane.

i was sick today but i went to work anyway, and it wasn't that bad. i sang weezer songs while i rode, and i made $46 in tips!!!!!! after work i was getting tea at a place on nicollet, and the girl behind the counter said "becky!" and i looked at her and couldn't figure out who she was, until she told me that she was cynthia, from my high school, and then i recognized her. she gave me a free muffin and we talked. i guess if i hung around long enough i'd run into most people i knew in high school. i still think it's so strange that so many people from my high school stayed in this area. i always thought everyone wanted to run away like me.

being around here makes me feel like i'm still in high school too, and i don't like it. something about the people here, the way we interact is more the way i was back then, before i changed. i need to go back to portland before i lose myself. i think one of the reasons i came here was to test myself, to see if i could really throw myself into a completely different situation and survive. and i think that's working fine. i don't get the euphoria i have in portland, but i'm happy and doing lots of things... i also partly came here to escape my drug habits, because i knew i couldn't get that stuff here. and even though it was really fun and i miss the excitement and insanity and large quantities of cocaine, the fact that i'm happy now proves that i don't need it... I Am Adaptable, Flexible, Like Clay: Play With Me!!


[ past ] [ future ]