NOW

ARCHIVE

NOTES

DLAND

EMAIL

the concrete is fire where my bare feet are placed, in a line, next to yours
28 July 2002 - 6:11 pm

it's thundering outside. soon it'll start pouring, like yesterday. i wanted to ride my bike somewhere... i just got back to gabe's and no one's here. my mom took me shopping to get some black shoes for work-- they only let you wear black or white shoes and the only thing i had besides sandals was aqua converse.

my first day was on friday. they taught me about sandwiches and stuff and i stood and wrapped sandwiches for 3 hours. their lunch rush was 10 times more crowded than any cafe/ restaurant i've ever worked at, and most of the customers were boring well-dressed business people. but tomorrow i get to start delivering. i take phone orders, and deliver them on my bike. i'm going to get so muscle-y after a while... also, i'm only the 2nd girl that's ever worked at this place, and probably their only girl deliverer ever (or "driver" as they say there). when the other driver met me, he said, "hey, aren't you gabe's sister?" and i said "no, i'm gabe's...." and he said, "oh, you're gabe's...". yeah. but he said delivering is really fun, so i'm kind of excited, although i don't know downtown at all. downtown minneapolis is cool, in a scary way, more futuristic tall buildings and anonymous throngs than in portland, and less friendly and homey.

"this is to all the workers out there: every commodity you produce is a piece of your own death!!"
-slacker


[ past ] [ future ]