NOW

ARCHIVE

NOTES

DLAND

EMAIL

saturday
29 June 2002 - 7:14 pm

the train ride is 1 day and 14 hours long, i'm leaving monday at 4:40. i'll bring some clothes and books, and my bike, and camera... and i love train rides. as soon as i get there i'm going with my parents to chicago to visit my relatives. then for the rest of the summer i'll be at gabe's house, which is nice, and he says his roommates are nice too. and minneapolis is hot the way i like it... i can leave after a few months before i get sick of being far from mountains and tall trees, and come back to portland for school.

so i don't have much to do before i go, just return my library books and pack some things. dave is going to have my room and pay my august rent. i'll just be floating from hand to hand...

for the past month i've been living in this world that i don't think most people will ever experience, that still doesn't seem real to me, in its urgency and secrecy: hedonists forced to follow the rules of capitalism. shock turns to boredom quickly, but i still have to remind myself that this is really happening. i have to stop myself from laughing when it reminds me of a movie. now i'm leaving, and when i get back everything will be different, but i'll always remember the brief moment when i was drawn into this unbelievable world that existed all around me.


[ past ] [ future ]