NOW

ARCHIVE

NOTES

DLAND

EMAIL

just love
27 May 2002 - 9:15 pm

[bright eyes song]

it was in the march of the winter i turned 17
that i bought those things i thought i would need
and i wrote a letter to my family, said it's not your fault
you've been good to me
just lately i've been feeling like i don't belong
like the ground's not mine to walk upon
and i've heard that music echo through the house
where my grandmother drank by herself
and i sat watching a flower as it was withering
i was embarrased by its honesty
so i'd prefer to be remembered as a smiling face
not this fucking wreck that's taken its place

so please forgive what i have done
you can't stay mad at the setting sun
we all get tired, i mean eventually,
there's nothing left to do but sleep

but spring came bearing sunlight, those persuasive rays
so i gave myself a few more days
my salvation it came, quite suddenly, when justin spoke very plainly
he said "of course it's your decision, but just so you know,
if you decide to leave, soon I will follow"

i wrote this for a baby who has yet to be born
my brother's first child, i hope that womb's not too warm
cause it's cold out here, and it'll be quite a shock
to breathe this air, to discover loss.
so i'd like to make some changes before you arrive
so when your new eyes meet mine
they won't see no lies
just love.
JUST LOVE.


[ past ] [ future ]