NOW

ARCHIVE

NOTES

DLAND

EMAIL

she seemed to be thinking about something far away, waiting patiently for someone to destroy her
29 May 2003 - 12:08 am

how to have fun in minneapolis for 7 hours for only $5... (i had to wait in the city until my dad could pick me up after he got off work):

12:00 $1.25 after gabe left for spain, i walked from his house to franklin and took the bus to lyndale... on the bus i listened to two women talk about how overweight they were. "when's the baby coming... i feel so bad when they say that.. the thing is, i carry all my weight in one place, i wish it would spread out more..." they were sitting behind me so i couldn't see what they looked like.

12:30 $1.35 bought coffee and sat outside for a long time. i read all the sections of the newspaper and wrote in my diary and listened to people's conversations. it was beautiful and sunny and hot and my back got sunburned, but i didn't realize that until a lot later.

2:00 $2.30 bought a grapefruit, an apple, and yogurt from a grocery store and walked to loring park. i took a picture looking up at an oak tree and locust tree with intertwined branches, against the blue sky. oak trees are my current tree obsession, but only the ones with rounded leaves. i picked one of the leaves and sat down by the lake and traced the leaf in my diary and colored it in with a sharpie. i sat there for a long time. the whole 2 hours i was there, an old guy was sitting at a bench about 10 feet behind me. i felt like i was in a movie and he was the audience. i ate my grapefruit with a plastic knife and spoon, and drew a picture of an elm that was leaning over the water, and got more sunburned.

4:00 packed up my things and walked across the street to the art museum. it costs $6 or something to get in, so i just looked at the gift shop for a long time. they have a lot of good art books, and it's air conditioned.

5:00 i was going to take the bus to uptown, but during rush hour it costs 50 cents more, so i decided to walk. it's about 2 miles, i think, but my stuff was heavy because i had all my things from staying at gabe's, plus my camera. my arms got really tired so i stopped in a little park to rest, where there's a statue of some old guy holding out his hat. it might be abraham lincoln, i'm not sure. once in 1999 when i'd just gotten back from spain, sarah and i were on acid and walking down the same street, and i climbed up on the statue and put spanish coins in his hat.

6:00 i stopped at various stores along the way and looked at things, including a paper store and a book store and a shoe store. things are expensive. my dad picked me up at lake and hennipen around 7. i had been outside almost the whole day, i was sore from walking and carrying things, sunburned, and i smelled like sweat and fresh air.

there is something different about me now and i can't shake it. where is the smiling longhaired girl whose most important goals were to have picnics and draw things and wear dresses. but i'll try, with the last ways left, to remember.

donna and her friend hitchhiked to california yesterday. she's going to get rich.

this is strange: a while ago i titled one of my entries "no news, no regrets." yesterday i was listening to the new calexico cd and he sang "no news, no new regrets." i've never heard the cd before, but i wondered if i had unconsciously been quoting something. i searched for it on the internet and all i came up with was my page and calexico lyrics. i guess we have a psychic connection.


[ past ] [ future ]