NOW

ARCHIVE

NOTES

DLAND

EMAIL

I told you when I came I was a stranger
12 February 2003 - 1:46 am

I am standing on the threshold of another trembling world. May God have mercy on my soul.

i just finished shattering silence, an anthropological study of nationalist women in northern ireland. it was pretty amazing. i didn't know much about the politics before i read this, but it's fascinating the way feminism and irish nationalism interact with each other, and the way women play a huge part in the struggle. yay. i had to read 160 pages at record speed so i could write the paper by the midnight deadline. it was a little late.

i read to the heroic and tragic music of mozart's requiem, while overhearing bits of donna's polite but slightly frantic phone conversations. it was kind of like that part in the godfather when everyone's getting killed during the baptism. words intersecting.

i am officially fucked in every way, my hardest semester ever, and i have no money... i paid donna's rent with my "food" money so i would be starving if it weren't for the generous assistence of todi, who sent me $60. i am deliriously overworked and undersleeped and running on ramen + hummus (not at the same time).

and where do all these highways go, now that we are free?


[ past ] [ future ]