NOW

ARCHIVE

NOTES

DLAND

EMAIL

My joy is covering me, soon I will disappear
16 January 2003 - 10:21 am

i'm leaving for minnesota today at 5:45. this is the first time i've ridden a plane since 9/11. the first time i was in an airport since then was when i picked my parents up, and the security was intense. we're going to drive down to chicago on friday to see natalie and my relatives, and come back tuesday night. i like chicago.

yesterday we finally got our bikes back from m.'s house. lately his girlfriend has not been very friendly, and m. takes less interest in us since he doesn't need to see us everyday. we felt it was a good time to get our bikes back so we won't need to have contact with them. donna's bike was too fucked up after being out in the rain for 2 months, so we put them on the 6 bus and then walked from hawthorne.

oh, get this. i have amoebas in my eyes. seriously. i finally went to an eye doctor, and she took one look and said my corneas were very unhappy and she thought i had this extremely rare infection from the amoebas in portland's water. she told me to throw out my contacts. she sent me to OHSU, but their special amoeba microscope was broken. they took a culture of my corneas but the results won't be back for a month. they thought i probably had it, so they told me to start using the eye-drops and see if it gets any better. donna and i think it's hilarious that my eyes are full of amoebas. they're our little pets. we talk to them. the stupidest part is that i can't wear my contacts for at least a month, and i hate wearing glasses (i'm vain). so yesterday i tried to walk around without either for most of the day. after a while i got used to everything being blurry, but it's kind of hard to cross the street. (my eyes are 20/400).

things that tend to reoccur in my life: "you are evil." "you are dangerous." "you will be the death of me." what do i do to make people say these things to me? "come on, you know where to get it." but he didn't. but i was half kidding. sometimes i feel enchanted. enchanting.

this just in, from my anthro professor:
Hi Becky,
Good to hear from you, and congratulations on your decision. It would make sense for you to have a conversation with ****, the chair of the department, to whom I am forwarding your message. You will certainly have to rush to complete your requirments, but, as we mapped out the other day in my office, it is certainly possible.
I'll see you in class in a couple of weeks. Enjoy the rest of your break, and happy new year.
Best,
****

yes! yes! yes!!!!!!


[ past ] [ future ]